Somewhere between The View and Another Page – My Top Favourite Movies

At the end of August, when I was packing to return to the trailer after having spent a few weeks visiting with the cats, my library, and a continuous internet connection, I decided to bring back a collection of DVDs to watch. We don’t subscribe to cable TV at either place, but at least Bequia has the benefit of that internet connection and a wide selection of movies and TV series that we’ve purchased over the years. While at the trailer, I’d been borrowing videos from the public library in Kincardine for my dinner time and early evening hours viewing.

As with books and authors, I have my favourites I would never part with, those that I have watched, and would watch again, many times over. For me, they never get old. So, as is usual, while I was searching through the DVDs and deciding what to bring back with me, I created a list. Three lists, actually … in alphabetical order, because that’s the way I roll.

Remember, these are my selections. Your taste in movies may, and likely does, differ.

Top Favourite Movies
(I own copies of these movies, with the exception of *, have watched them each more times than I can count, and am always game to watch them again. Any time!)

Across the Universe
Bella Martha (Mostly Martha)
Cinema Paradiso
Citizen Kane
Local Hero
Love Actually
*Mediterraneo (We had this on video long ago, but it’s never been released on DVD. We do have a digital copy.)
Shaun of the Dead
Waking Ned Devine

Also Rans
(I own copies of most of these, have watched them each more than once, some many times.)

A Fish Called Wanda
All About Eve
Bagdad Café
Club Paradise
Dersu Uzala
Fitzcaraldo
Four Weddings and a Funeral
Heartlands
Lord of the Rings (all 3 in original series) 1, 2, 3
Lost in Translation
Master and Commander
Notting Hill
The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert
Run Lola Run
Rushmore
Star Trek (2009)
The Big Chill
The Blues Brothers
The Dish
The Station Agent
This is Spinal Tap
Water (comedy set in the Caribbean)
Where the Buffalo Roam (Bill Murray IS Hunter S. Thompson!)

TV Series
(I own copies)

A Year in Provence
Black Books
Fawlty Towers
Firefly/Serenity
Jewel in the Crown
SCTV
Star Trek: The Next Generation
Pride and Prejudice (with Colin Firth)

These are essentially my favourite movies. I’ve included all the IMDB links and urge you to check out any that may not be familiar to you. I believe my life has been the richer for having watched and enjoyed all of them.

And I just know I’m missing some other titles . . .

You are most welcome here! Enjoying the view with me from my trailer or verandah.

Susan

Leave a Reply

